They were 11! ( 11人いる!)

The other day I watched this old movie, actually on the same day I got it (Which is super unusual for me =_=;) And here comes a review...well, rather more my opinon of it ^^;


They were 11, or Juuichinin Iru, was addapted  from a manga by Hagio Moto in 1975. She was part of the 70's called "Year 24  group" (Nijūyo-nen Gumi) , being one of the womans who advanced and made basic structures to the Shojo manga of this time. They also created some of the first Shounen-ai mangas.
Some other from the gruop is Takemiya Keiko - who has made my beloved Terra he and Ikeda Ryouko who made Rose of Versailles.

Anyway, that is enough info, now to the movie ^^
Btw the movie was made 1986, so not as a old as the manga but still..old,lol.
Also, thehe manga was only 1.volume, so I'm guessing they got most of it into the movie.



SUMMARY: 
The setting is in the future, and mankind has reached space. In space lies the oppertunity within the great space academy, which people (creatures) from all different planets try to get in to. Tada, together with 9 other strangers are to start the final test. All wearing space suits board an abonded spaceship and descovers that they are no longer 10, but 11 people now. Together they have to maintain and survive on the ship for 52 days, always with the worries over the 11th person.



Characters From the upper right to lover left:
1. Chako Kacka - Chako ( I think it was that :P)
2. Glenn Groff - Thickhead
3. Vidmenir Knume - Knu
4. King Mayan Baceska - King (Ouji)
5. Doricas Soldam IV - Soldam
6. Tadatos Lane - Tada ( main character)
7. Frobericheri Frol - Frol ( and no, it isn't a girl^^)
8. Dolph Tasta - Rednose
9. Amazon Carnais - Amazon
10. Toto - Toto
11. Ganigas Gagtos - Ganga


REVIEW:
The movie started off pretty good, speeding up the background story for the main character Tada, summarizing his reason for taking the test, through flashbacks with the elder from his village. It took only 10 minutes for the movie to reach the important point of realization of the 11th person, enlarging it with a big headline.
All characters looked very different, really showing the typhical style of 70-80's character ^^
But as said before, not everyone of them looked human, especially Vidmenir Knume, called only Knu and Glenn Groff, mostly-or rather, always called Thickhead. The character design was intersting, all different in a really big ways!
Another interesting point with the fact of different planets, is that it also meant different cultures for all of them.
And the story was truly really good, I'm still stunned over how much it exceeded my expectations (which I didn't have much of from the beginning - except that it was made by a great mangaka XD)
It continued to have a good flow, perhaps a little bit to fast with the passing days,
And because there were no options to figure out who was the 11th member, the lingering eager feeling of wanting to figure out lasted though the whole movie ^^
Perhaps I should have said this before, but I love when a serie contends new or different elements from what I have branded as "typhical ~Cliche" So a movie like this from a whole different generation is really into my liking.



SEIYU:
Since it's such an old movie, I wasn't expecting any "seiyu time", but unexpected there was one guy, who is even part of Neo Romance appearing :D
Any guesses?
For the Kings voice, we have Angeliques Claviss (-The protector of the darkness Sacuria in the universe) Tanaka Hideyuki!! ^0^
And he was perfect for the role as snobby King too,lol.
But that wasn't all, there was another person who I'm not that very familiar with, but who still lightened up a Seiyu moment for me.
Tada is voiced by Kamiya Akira. I have to admit that I can't come up with any good character he has voiced... except a non important ass character in Saint Seiya..Argol *grrr* >.<. But I have one song, which I think is from City hunters called "Lonely Lullaby" and it is very nice.

Oh,thats right! This is tottaly my own thoughts and not true to the real fact, but  Chacko's voice was super-mega alike YOSHINOS XDDDDD So I sat and made comments for myself that it was Yoshinos father,lol XDDD.

CONCLUSION:
This is a really good anime which I really recommend. Even if you may dislike the old animation, the stlye or the layout, it is still worth to check out. Perhaps it will even teach you a good portion of how much animes has evolved in 20 years.
And if not for that, then it will have to be for this big thing I will tell you about now * takes a deep breath*

" THEY HAVE A HERMAPHRODITE + AN EX-HERMAPHRODITE" O_O, O_O, O_O !!!!!!!!
Do I have to say more?!

........Btw, this is tottaly unrelated to the movie, but when I checked out her profile I found out that she had done the character design for illusion of Gaia O_O It's an old Snes RPG I played some years ago (on pc then of course) It was different and funny from usual game. You only controlled the main character, but you had friends who would follow you and always say something funny - especially the conversation with the spoiled girl were funny.
But even though you played with one character, you had the great ability to change your appearance to a knight with sword XD You can see the difference in the picture beneth, from the usual boy to Sir.Blondy :)


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0